Daily Archives: October 28, 2009

It’s In The Bag!- Finding Alternatives To Traditional Interfacing That Is…

Sorry in advance for the “wordy” post BUT it might be helpful to you if you have struggled to find the most sustainable alternative to traditional interfacing, as I did.

This is one of my newest totes with the interfacing...Once I started making tote bags, I realized that I needed to use some sort of additional material to add durability and, in some cases structure, to each piece. It was obvious to me that I had to use some sort of interfacing but cringed at the thought because traditional interfacing hardly stays in tune with the guidelines that I set in place for myself. I vowed to use only: reclaimed, repurposed, vintage and organic materials in production. Traditionally interfacing can be found made in: polyester, nylon, Polyamide, among other materials and a lot of interfacing doesn’t even list what it’s made of. See my dilemma?

So I set off on a mission to figure this out and honestly I will not bored you with the long list of trails and tribulations. I will say that don’t even bother trying these: layering tons of fabric: it just makes the bags super bulky and may break a half dozen sewing machine needles; don’t use wooden dowels to structure a bag: it seemed like a good idea at the time but it was not and broke through the fabric and poked me in the side when I tried to use the bag; do not use batting for the whole bag without quilting at least one layer (like the lining only) because it will get all lumpy after washing. Mind you, I only put myself through all of this experimenting after a long search for organic cotton, sew-in interfacing and came out with nothing.

I worried that I might have to break down and use traditional interfacing to keep the quality of my product high. So once I started shopping around for interfacing again I found that there were actually 100% cotton interfacing. It was fusible but after all of this I determined it was the lesser of two evils and decided to give it a try! I even found organic cotton interfacing but the company only have a limited supply and had bought it 10 years earlier. So I ordered a little of both and what a difference!! I would HIGHLY recommend the 100% cotton fusible interfacing is what anyone use if they know they have to use some sort of light interfacing, why not use the most natural option?!

So here is what I use:

It is the last item listed: SF101Pellon SF101 Shape-Flex Woven Interfacing (made in the USA). It is 100% cotton, no manufactured fibers, and it comes in white and black. It is fusible so it won’t shift around when you are sewing, making life a lot easier. I pre-shrink mine when I first get it by soaking it in lukewarm water for 10 minutes and then line drying it. My bags are so much more durable now, I am SO happy with my decision! I bought mine at Joann’s Fabric.

Bamboo and Cotton BattingI also do use batting in some of my smaller projects like the gift bag I am coming out with in the next week or so. It adds stability to the bottom of the bag and I can use it in ornaments and such also. I plan on experimenting with batting in a clutch I’m going to try out after the holiday season is over. So if that works, I will add it to this post in a few months. I use Bamboo batting which is 50% bamboo and 50% organic cotton and Cotton Classic Batting made from 100% Organic cotton. Both are made by Fairfield and made in CT, USA. I also have to pre-shrink the batting which is the same process as the interfacing: soak in lukewarm water for 10 minutes and then line dry. I bought mine at Joann’s Fabric.

I hope this saves you some time if you are in the same position that I was over the last few months. The cotton interfacing won’t give you a stiff bag, which luckily that wasn’t what I was going for, but it will add a lot of durability to your project and in my case I want to be able to offer bags that are one of a kind and sustainable in how they can be used for a long, long time! Being able to buy one bag and use it for years is much more sustainable then buying a new one every few months.

Happy sewing to all of you and if you have any alternative to traditional interfacing that you live by and want to share then leave a comment! Thanks!

~Katherine~

About Reclaimed Threads: Reclaimed Threads is a sustainable bag company launched by Katherine DeSantis. Katherine is  a 20-something entrepreneur combined her love of being creative and sustainably conscious to form the company.  Every bag is handmade by Katherine from reclaimed, vintage and organic/sustainable materials. There are a variety of style bags and products to chose from! Her shop is at: www.reclaimedthreads.etsy.com.

Leave a comment

Filed under young entrepreneur